Baby Recieving Blankets - Promotion

Happy Birthday Meighan!

In partnership with

Happy Birthday Meighan and Baby Blankets

I wanted to send out a special note to say HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my daughter Meighan. Some of you may remember Meighan working in my stores over the years. Meighan lives in the Twin Cities with her husband and my 3 grandkids. To celebrate her birthday I’m offering a special promotion on flannel baby blanket kit bundles and kid play mats on my website with special rollback pricing based on the year she was born 1974.

I usually talk about the history of fabrics but today I thought I would share some fun facts about 1974:

  • The TV show Saturday Night Live debuted in 1974, this season will be the 50th year of the long standing comedy show.

  • Skittles Were First Released in 1974

  • The Rubik’s Cube Was Invented

  • Stephen King started scaring readers with his first novel, Carrie, released in 1974

  • Happy Days started an 11-year run on ABC

  • In 1974, a gallon of whole milk cost $1.39, bacon was 99 cents for a one-pound package, and eggs were 58 cents a dozen.

  • The Miami Dolphins were the Super Bowl champs, the Oakland Athletics won the World Series, and the Philadelphia Flyers clinched the Stanley Cup.

Picture of Meighan and me last year during the holidays in one of my favorite yellow puffy jackets!

When my daughter Meighan was born my mother-in-law made her several baby blankets, nearly 50 years ago! These were Meighan’s favorite blankets and especially loved since they were from her Grandma Krager! She would be thrilled to have me sharing her approach and I know these new flannel receiving blankets would have made her smile!

These blankets are perfect gift for a new mom. I try to have 2-3 completed blankets in my linen closet at all times to use as a welcome gift for a neighbor, co-worker or friend of the family. I made several for each of my grandkids and friends when I heard a new one was on the way. They are the perfect size for swaddling those little ones!

We have bundles available on our website that include 2 pieces of coordinated prints (1 1/4 yards each) and an instruction sheet for making a receiving blanket. We have bundles of Pink, Blue and other colors. Please note your choice in 'Comments' at the end of the order. Bundles are normally sold for $32/set but in celebration of my daughter’s birthday we are offering them for $19.74/set on August 12th only!

Completed Blanket

Sample Fabrics:

These play mats are the perfect complement to a baby receiving blanket gift for the older siblings! Beep! Beep! Play Mat is 36" X 45" cotton canvas.

Enjoying the play mat!

Enjoying the play mat!

Bohin Needles - Final Days of Promotional Price!

Bohin is renowned in France and Europe as one of the leading manufacturers of quality needles since 1833. High standards and innovative manufacturing techniques make these needles a popular choice for sewers and quilters. These are fantastic needles to have while working on any sewing projects!

Bohin is a company that's been operating in France since the 1830's. In the 1860's, the company began manufacturing needles and pins. So they've been doing the needle / pin thing for a long time. Their needles are still made in their factory located near L'Aigle, France.

The Daily Newsletter for Intellectually Curious Readers

  • We scour 100+ sources daily

  • Read by CEOs, scientists, business owners and more

  • 3.5 million subscribers